Compact Disc Digi


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

Out Of Stock - currently unavailable
Item no. : MASSCDDG1346
Product type : Compact Disc Digi
Release Date : 02 November 2009



Ian Gillan, an English rock music vocalist and songwriter, best known as the lead singer and lyricist for Deep Purple. Cherkazoo & Other Stories is a collection of 18 extremely rare solo tracks recorded between 1973 and 1975. The first eight tracks (six songs, two dialogues) are taken from the previously unreleased soundtrack to Cherkazoo, a children's story Gillan labored on in the early 70s. The remainder of the record is devoted to sessions Gillan cut between his departure from Purple in 1973 and the beginning of his solo career in 1976. Both items are equally sought-after among collectors, but outside listeners will undoubtedly be taken with Cherkazoo, a delightful collection of psychedelic pop and whimsical British music hall numbers. These are utterly charming songs, sounding like Sgt. Pepper-era Beatles or early pre-Space Oddity Bowie, and having all the appeal of the best obscure British psychedelia. The early solo sessions find Gillan in more familiar territory, namely hard rock. On these songs, he's willing to play around, whether that means returning to early inspirations, or stretching out with organ solos or dipping into orchestrated pop, such as Music in My Head, which sounds like a great forgotten AM radio hit. There's more variety here, yet it never sounds as contrived or forced as early Ian Gillan Band records occasionally do. This album a testament to Gillan’s incredible talent both as a songwriter and a vocalist supreme and the range of material contained within this recording is quite diverse. From the folksy sound of the title track to the R & R blast of Ian's terrific cover of the Elvis Presley tune Trying to Get to You to the very JC Superstar sounding vocals of Driving Me Wild. Don't expect Deep Purple type music on this CD but if you do love just plain great music by a vocalist you will be very glad that you have this album. The new digipak edition is limited to 1000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process, released on a golden disc.

1. Intro
2. Cherkazoo
3. Monster In Paradise
4. The Bull Of Birantis
5. Intro
6. Hogwash
7. Driving Me Wild (Take One)
8. Donkey Ride Dream
9. Trying To Get To You
10. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
11. Driving Me Wild (Fast Take)
12. Music In My Head
13. You Make Me Feel So Good
14. She Called Me Softly
15. Driving Me Wild (Take Three)
16. You Led My Heart Astray
17. A Little Share Of Plenty
18. Night And Day
19. Hidden Track

Item successfully added to your basket