Compact Disc Digi


Chest (Inch)

Chest (CM)

In Stock
Item no. : KAR136CDD
Product type : Compact Disc Digi
Release Date : 27 October 2017



Blackbox is the fourth studio album by the Norwegian cult prog rock outfit Major Parkinson. Come over to the passenger side, open the lid and embark on an unparalleled journey through cinematic, progressive soundscapes and otherworldly melodies. In the able hands of sound maestro Yngve Leidulv Sætre, this Blackbox has been forged in stainless dark matter and is filled to the brim with musical excess. It is a treasure chest pulled patiently from the ocean floor, through shoals of curious starfish. It’s a night ride through a snowy and moonlit mountain pass, under the pale flicker of oddly shaped constellations.

The seven members of the band have spent the better part of two years creating this album, partly in the legendary Duper Studio,  and partly in their own dungeon - Degaton Studio. And the end result is now finally ready to be unleashed on the world. Linn Frøkedal (Misty Coast, Low Frequency in Stereo) contributes on no less than four tracks with her haunting vocals, and a plethora of guest musicians have all added their unique blends to further elevate the Blackbox experience. Frenetic horn sections, angelic strings, rusty hammers, paper planes and rocket ships, this album has it all.

With this release, Major Parkinson gives you an uncompromising work, somewhere in the crossroads between progressive rock, cinematic pop, heavy industry and icy Arctic electronics. Roll out the black carpet!

1. Lover, Lower Me Down!
2. Night Hitcher
3. Before the Helmets
4. Isabel - A Report to an Academy
5. Scenes from Edison's Black Maria
6. Madeleine Crumbles
7. Baseball
8. Strawberry Suicide
9. Blackbox
Item successfully added to your basket